How We Decorate Pumpkins

They’re not Pinterest-worthy, but that’s kinda the point.

Close up of half carved pumpkin with a crooked purple bow and splattered red and black paint all over it.
Author’s Photo of “Pumpcasso”

This year, I had a pumpkin decoration plan. We’d paint a few early, then carve the rest on Halloween.

Silly me. Anytime I try to dictate my kids’ creativity, it backfires.

They wanted to stab their pumpkins, dig their hands in squishy guts, and slather their wounded gourds in red paint.

Lovely.

I resisted. They persisted. I relented.

And you know what? Their approach blew mine away. Ideas bounced around the room, followed by giggles.

We even named a creation after Pablo Picasso and discussed his controversial influence on art.

Here are a few of their masterpieces:

Pumpkin with felt green and black witch hat, one eyeball, and black paint splattered on it.
The other side of Pumpcasso.
Orange pumpkin with witch hat stickers made of felt stuck all over it and a tiny witch felt hat on top with purple and black coloring.
Sticky Witch Pumpkin
Pumpkin with sharpie scribbled on it, sparkly green paint and a felt brown spider crawling on it.
Spider Web Pumpkin

Thank you, my little dudes, for reminding me that our best moments are unplanned.

This year, screw Pinterest and let your kiddos take over pumpkin decorating!

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.