How To Channel Your Inner Child and Find Joy

Ask your 10-year-old self, she knows what to do

Adrienne Parkhurst
4 min readJan 19, 2023
Woman arching her back on dock with sunset in background
Photo by Drew Colins on Unsplash

Every once in a while I’ll listen to an interview or read a book that won’t leave me alone. Right now, I can’t get Jason Reynolds out of my head.

Last year, Reynolds, a novelist and poet, appeared on the podcast Unlocking Us, hosted by Brené Brown. During the interview, titled Masterpieces and Messes, Reynolds promoted his book, Ain’t Burned All the Bright that he co-created with artist Jason Griffin.

This interview drew me in — after I finished, I immediately replayed it. Later that week, I checked out a few of Reynolds’ books from the library and bought his new book from our local bookstore.

I’m no stranger to Reynolds work, his book Long Way Down inspired me to write poetry. But, I hadn’t realized I needed Reynolds’ work to help me through an unusual sadness that had crept into my life.

This podcast and book found me at the right time.

The Interview

I could listen to Jason Reynolds talk all day. His voice has a rhythm and depth that I find addictive.

One of my favorites parts of the interview is when he talks about his mom’s parenting approach.

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.